Itasca County Court Administration
123 NE 4th St. Grand Rapids MN 55744

 
Fine and Ticket Information
 
Unpaid Fine?  No Need to Wait in Line!
You may pay many fines online.  Visit https://webpay.courts.state.mn.us/CourtWebPay/default.aspx to begin!  You will need either your ticket/citation number or your court file number to access your fine.
 
Paying By Phone
To pay by credit card, call 1-800-657-3611, or in the Minneapolis/St. Paul metro area 651-281-3219.  You will need either your ticket/citation number or your court file number to access your fine.  There will be a $1.50 convenience fee for paying by credit card.
 
Requesting Payment Plan for Payable Citations
You can request a payment plan from the Call Payment Center by calling the number listed above, or by appearing at Itasca County Court Administration on the court date written on your ticket.
 
Checking Your Fine Balance
To access your fine account balance online, visit the Minnesota Judicial Branch at www.mncourts.gov/
  1. Click on “Find Court Records”
  2. Select “Access Trial Court Records”.
  3. Read and accept the terms of use.  This will bring you to the Minnesota Public Access Remote View.
  4. From the drop-down menu select Itasca.
  5. From the list of options, select Criminal/Traffic/Petty Case Records.
  6. From the Search By drop-down menu, you have the option of searching by Case, Defendant, Citation or Attorney.  If you are search by case number, remember to enter 31 at the beginning.
  7. From your search results, locate and click on the blue hyperlink of the case you want to review.
  8. On the register of actions page, scroll to the bottom of the page to review the Financial information portion of the case for the balance owing. 
Please note:  If there is any reference in the “other events and hearings” section of the register of action that the case has been referred to collections you will need to contact Court Administration at 218-327-2870.
 
When you Need to Appear in Person
 
You must appear in court at the address location noted on the citation if:
  1. You wish to plead not guilty.
  2. You wish to plead guilty with an explanation.
  3. You have endangered life or property.  (Box will be checked on the front of the ticket)
  4. The offense you have been charged with is court required.
You may elect to plead “Guilty as Charged” to all listed violations, and pay the fine(s) indicated below.  Payment of a fine(s) is deemed to be a “Plea of Guilty.”
 
NOTE:  It may take up to 30 days for your citation to be entered into the system.
 
To Pay By Mail
 
Make check payable to:  Minnesota Court Payment Center.
 
DO NOT MAIL CASH.  Payment can be mailed to:
Minnesota Court Payment Center
PO Box 898
Willmar, MN  56201
If you would prefer to drop the payment off in person, we can accept payment at Itasca County Court Administration during business hours from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday.
 
Paying No Proof Of Insurance Violations
If you have received a citation for No Proof of Insurance and the vehicle you were driving was insured on the date and time of offense, you must provide proof there was valid coverage on the date of the offense:
 
A copy of your insurance card or printed computer or declaration pages will not be accepted. You must obtain a letter from your agent on company letterhead, signed by an authorized agent.  Your proof must be in writing and include the following information: 
  1. Identify the driver or owner who received the ticket.
  2. The vehicle you were operating must be identified:  Year, Make, Model, VIN number. 
  3. The letter must specify that the vehicle you were operating was covered on the offense date and time that you were stopped by an officer.
  4. The policy number and the agent’s address and telephone number must be included. 
  5. The written verification must be signed by an authorized agent of the company.   
The information can be faxed to the Court Payment Center at 320-231-6507.  Include a copy of the ticket with your proof of insurance.
If you are also charged with another payable violation, you may mail your payment for violation along with your proof of insurance, as detailed above, to the Minnesota Court Payment Center.
Minnesota Court Payment Center
PO Box 898
Willmar, MN  56201
You may also provide your proof of insurance, as detailed above,  to Itasca County Court Administration by the due date/court date on your ticket or citation.
 
Common Violation Fine Amounts
(Fine amounts subject to change without notice.)
PLEASE NOTE:  Each fine amount noted below includes a mandatory state-imposed surcharge of $75.00 that is imposed pursuant to Minnesota Statute 357.021, Subd. 6.
 
Charge
Amount
Statute Number
Speeding
 
 
1-10 MPH over limit
$125.00
169.14
11-14 MPH over limit
$135.00
169.14
15-19 MPH over limit
$145.00
169.14
20-25 MPH overlimit
$225.00
169.14
26-30 MPH over limit
$285.00
169.14
31+ MPH over limit
$385.00
169.14
Inattentive Driving
$125.00
169.14, subd 1
Texting while Driving
$135.00
169.475(2)
Possess drug paraphernalia
$135.00
152.092
Possess small amount of marijuana
$135.00
152.027, subd 4(a)
Failure to display current plates
$115.00
168.09, subd 4
Failure to obey traffic control device
$135.00
169.06, subd 4
Keep to the right
$135.00
169.18, subd 1
Follow too close
$135.00
169.18, subd 7
Improper lane use
$135.00
169.18, subd 7
Failure to yield right of way
$135.00
169.20, subd 1
Stop sign violation
$135.00
169.30
Controlled access violation
$135.00
169.305, subd 1(a)
Vehicle signals/turn signals
$125.00
169.57
Child restraint violation
$135.00
169.685, subd 5(a-b)
Seat belt violation
$110.00
169.686, subd 1(a)
Illegal window tint
$135.00
169.791, subd 4(a)
Bumper height
$135.00
169.73
Annual inspection
$185.00
169.781, subd 2
License plate violation
$120.00
169.79, subd 1-8
Allow illegal operation
$185.00
169.90, subd 2
Drive w/o valid license
$185.00
171.02, subd 1
Drive w/o valid license expired less 1 yr
$185.00
171.02, subd 2
No DL in possession
$105.00
171.08
Wrong address on DL
$105.00
171.11
Littering
$185.00
609.68
Poss small amt marijuana in m/v-owner/driver
$235.00
152.057, subd 3
Failure to transfer title within 10 days
$385.00
168A.30, subd 2(3)
Open bottle, drinking
$185.00
169A.35, subd 2
Open bottle, possession
$185.00
169A.35, subd 3
No medical card in possession
$185.00
49CFR39a.41(a)
Medical card expired less than 30 days
$185.00
49CFR391.41(a)
Log book not current
$135.00
49CFR395.8(f)(1)
Failure to display current plates
$115.00
168.09, subd 4
Operate unregistered vehicle
$185.00
168.09, subd 1
Liquor consumption by persons under 21
$185.00
340A.503, subd 1(a)(2)
 
 
 
 
Failure to Appear Notice 
Failure to pay by or appear on the court date indicated on your ticket will be considered a plea of guilty and waiver of trial for petty misdemeanor offenses, and may result in one or more of the following actions being taken against you:
  1. Certification of charges to your driving record,
  2. Drivers License suspension,
  3. Issuance of a bench warrant for your arrest,
  4. Referral of your debt to a collection agency.
If referred, the collections agency will assess additional fees.  The collection agency is authorized to take the following actions to collect your debt:  levy your bank account, seizure your property, file a judgment or lien which will affect your credit rating, revoke or deny personal or business license, offset vendor payments owed to you by a state agency, levy wages, seize tax refunds or refer your debt.
 
It is your responsibility to notify the court of a change of address.